Mah is the new Gerakan president

Datuk Mah Siew Keong has been declared the new Gerakan president after garnering 1,086 votes during the party’s election which concluded this afternoon at Menara PGRM.

Mah defeated his challenger, Penang Gerakan chairman Teng Chang Yeow by 509 votes after the latter only managed to receive 577 votes from delegates.

Meanwhile, Mah’s running mate, Dr Cheah Soon Hai, secured the party’s deputy president post after earning 1,113 votes, compared to his challenger Ma Woei Chyi, who won 545 votes.

Selangor Gerakan chief A. Kohilan Pillay successfully defended his vice-president’s post after securing 1,144 votes. Malay candidate Datuk Dr Asharuddin Ahmad also named the party’s vice-president after garnering 1,104 votes.

Teo Kok Chee is earned the most number of votes in the race for the vice-president’s post after gaining 1,226 votes. The victors edged out three other challengers to claim the three available spots.

Announcing the votes was Gerakan election committee chairman Yap Kia Peng.

Those who won the central committee posts are: Ch’ng Boon Chye, Lim Si Pin, Ng Siew Lai, See Tean Seng, Dr Dominic Lau Hoe Chai, Liang Teck Meng, Parameswaran Ganason, Dr Ng Keong Chye, Yap Kim Heng, Lau Hoi Keong, Vincent Hooi Wy-Hon, Choong Vee Hing, Baljit Singh, Dr Thor Teong Gee, Peter Pang En Yin, Lau Chin Hoon, Jayanthi Balaguru and Ng Chian Chin.





Follow @partigerakan