Print this page

Gerakan has a new line-up with Mah elected president

Datuk Mah Siew Keong has been elected the new Gerakan president after beating Penang Gerakan chairman Datuk Teng Chang Yeow in party elections in Kuala Lumpur today.

Mah, the former party secretary-general, secured 1,086 votes while Teng managed to garner only 577 votes.

The results were announced by Terengganu Gerakan chairman Yap Kea Ping at Menara PGRM.

Acting president Datuk Chang Ko Youn had declined to defend his post.

Kedah party chairman Dr Cheah Soon Hai was picked as the new deputy president after edging Kepong division chief Ma Woei Chyi. Cheah won 1,113 votes while Ma received 545 votes.

The three elected vice-presidents are Teo Eng Tee, A. Kohilan Pillay and Asharuddin Ahmad.

Teo garnered 1,226 votes while Kohilan and Asharuddin obtained 1,144 and 1,104 votes, respectively.

Eighteen new central committee members were also elected in this election. They are Ch'ng Boon Chye, Lim Si Pin, Ng Siew Lai, See Tean Seng, Dr Dominic Lau Hoe Chai, Liang Teck Meng, G. Parameswaran, Dr Ng Keong Chye, Yap Kim Heng, Lau Hoi Keong, Vincent Hooi Wy-Hon and Choong Vee Hing.

The rest are Baljit Singh, Dr Thor Teong Gee, Peter Pang En Yin, Lau Chin Hoon, Jayanthi Devi Balaguru and Ng Chiang Chin.

A total of 1,679 from the over 2,000 national delegates attended the party's 42nd National Delegates Conference which was opened by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak. - Bernama, October 26, 2013.