Print this page

Mah is Gerakan president

POPULAR CHOICE: He gets 1,086 votes to Teng Chang Yeow's 577 votes

KUALA LUMPUR: GERAKAN began a fresh chapter after its new leadership line-up was voted in, led by Datuk Mah Siew Keong as the president during the party's election yesterday.

Mah, the party's former vice-president, secured 1,086 votes compared with his rival, Penang chairman Teng Chang Yeow's 577 votes.

"While I am proud to be chosen as the president, it is not an easy burden to shoulder as Gerakan is facing a lot of challenges.

"But I think if we work together as a team, we can bring the party up again," said Mah after the results were announced.

After two heavy defeats in the 2008 and 2013 general elections, Mah admitted that Gerakan suffered from many weaknesses.

Gerakan only won a parliamentary seat and three state seats in the recent general election which was worse than in 2008 when it won two parliamentary and four state seats.

Mah said he had spoken to Teng and they had agreed to work together, with the latter appointed as a central committee member.

The presidential contest saw a straight fight between the two after former acting president Datuk Chang Ko Youn decided not to contest.

Mah's running mate and Kedah Gerakan chairman Dr Cheah Soon Hai filled the deputy president's post after defeating Kuala Lumpur chairman Ma Woei Chyi by a majority of 568 votes.

The three vice-president's posts were won by Selangor Gerakan chief A. Kohilan Pillai, Datuk Dr Asharuddin Ahmad and Teo Kok Chee.

Kohilan retained his post by securing 1,114 votes while Teo Kok Chee earned the highest number of votes in the race for the vice-president's post with 1,226 votes.

The victors edged out three other challengers to claim their spots.

Those who won the central committee posts are: Ch'ng Boon Chye, Lim Si Pin, Ng Siew Lai, See Tean Seng, Dr Dominic Lau Hoe Chai, Liang Teck Meng, Parameswaran Ganason, Dr Ng Keong Chye, Yap Kim Heng, Lau Hoi Keong, Vincent Hooi Wy-Hon, Choong Vee Hing, Baljit Singh, Dr Thor Teong Gee, Peter Pang En Yin, Lau Chin Hoon, Jayanthi Balaguru and Ng Chian Chin.

Announcing the votes was Gerakan election committee chairman Yap Kia Peng.

A total of 1,679 delegates took part in the party polls held at Menara PGRM, which is the party's headquarters.

Earlier on Friday night, Kedah Gerakan Youth chief Tan Keng Liang, who secured 210 votes, won the contest for the movement's chief's post defeating Oh Tong Keong, who garnered 165 votes.

The Gerakan Youth deputy chief's post was won by Andy Yong Kim Seng with 193 votes, defeating Teow Jit Meng, who received 183 votes.

Datuk Tan Lian Hoe had won the Gerakan Wanita chief's post unopposed. Additional reporting by Carisma Kapoor